Contact: ~ or ~ 0413 176 031

Jamon:  Iberico -v- Serrano

There are two main types of jamón:

  • Jamón serrano (jamón from the sierra / mountains)
  • Jamón ibérico (jamón from pure breeds of  Black Iberian pig)

Types of Jamón

The 5 major classes of Jamon from highest to lowest quality:
  1. Jamón ibérico de bellota.  This is sourced from happy-chappy, free-range, acorn-fed, pure-bred, Iberian pigs.  Spanish Deli specialises in importing this quality classification.
  2. Jamón ibérico de recebo: This is sourced from pigs fed o a mix of acorns, pasture and feed lots.  They are also rather content.
  3. Jamón ibérico de cebo o campo (field).  These lovely swine eat natural feed and in the case of campo/field, they graze in the fields for 2 months.
  4. Jamón ibérico are Iberian pigs fed in feed-lots
  5. Jamón serrano: This is the jamon you serve to house guests you don´t went eating all of your “top-shelf” Jamaon iberico de bellota.  It is from white pigs fed on a mix of comound feed.  It´s also called jamón curado, jamón reserva and jamón extra.  The words serrano, curado, reserva and extra are fluffy marketing terms and do not indicate quality.

Contact us on with any queries or orders.


Close Menu